5 Books On My TBR Shelf I’m Excited About (Week 9)

It’s been a few weeks since I last did this. I’ve probably added 30+ books to my TBR shelf since then (#bookwormproblems).

q1
1. Lady of the English 
by Elizabeth Chadwick
Publish Date: June 2, 2011
# of Pages: 532
Goodreads Rating: 4.03

Description (from Goodreads): Two very different women are linked by destiny and the struggle for the English crown. Matilda, daughter of Henry I, is determined to win back her crown from Stephen, the usurper king. Adeliza, Henry’s widowed queen and Matilda’s stepmother, is now married to William D’Albini, a warrior of the opposition. Both women are strong and prepared to stand firm for what they know is right. But in a world where a man’s word is law, how can Adeliza obey her husband while supporting Matilda, the rightful queen? And for Matilda pride comes before a fall …What price for a crown? What does it cost to be ‘Lady of the English’?

Why am I excited to read this book?: I really enjoy reading historical fiction, which is why this book is on my shelf. It has gotten great reviews, and sounds really interesting!


q2

2. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
Publish Date: September 29, 2008
# of Pages: 416
Goodreads Rating: 3.93

Description (from Goodreads): Finnikin of the Rock and his guardian, Sir Topher, have not been home to their beloved Lumatere for ten years. Not since the dark days when the royal family was murdered and the kingdom put under a terrible curse. But then Finnikin is summoned to meet Evanjalin, a young woman with an incredible claim: the heir to the throne of Lumatere, Prince Balthazar, is alive.

Evanjalin is determined to return home and she is the only one who can lead them to the heir. As they journey together, Finnikin is affected by her arrogance . . . and her hope. He begins to believe he will see his childhood friend, Prince Balthazar, again. And that their cursed people will be able to enter Lumatere and be reunited with those trapped inside. He even believes he will find his imprisoned father.

But Evanjalin is not what she seems. And the truth will test not only Finnikin’s faith in her . . . but in himself.

Why am I excited to read this book?: I bought this book for my Amazon Kindle when it was a daily deal. For a while, I was hearing a lot about it. I’d like to know if it’s as good as the Goodreads reviews would lead me to believe.


q3

3. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Publish Date: September 24, 1998
# of Pages: 546
Goodreads Rating: 4.03

Description (from Goodreads): Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through supernatural glamours.

She’s also about to find out that she may be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.

For fans of Teen Wolf, Buffy, and Supernatural, this New York Times bestseller is a witty, fresh, and downright fun read that will capture your heart.

Why am I excited to read this book?: I added this book to my shelf several years ago because the cover appealed to me. Now that I’ve read And I Darken, I have to read this book!!!


q4

4. Dancing on Coals by Ellen O’Connell
Publish Date: October 18, 2011
# of Pages: 320
Goodreads Rating: 4.11

Description (from Goodreads): After escaping robbers intent on murder, Katherine Grant says, “I jumped from the frying pan into the fire. Before long I’ll be dancing on the coals.” The highwaymen were the frying pan; the handsome young Apache who saved her from them was the fire; and the coals? Gaetan.

Rage against the enemies of his people has consumed Gaetan from boyhood. The only use he ever found for any white was to test the sharpness of his knife. Forced by his brother to endure Katherine’s company, Gaetan tries to deny what he sees—the white woman has a man’s temper and a lion’s courage. She has an Apache heart.

In spite of hate, distrust and fear, surviving in the rugged country of southern Arizona and northern Mexico forges a strange bond between Katherine and Gaetan. When the bond turns to love, can they admit it? Can they bear the consequences?

Why am I excited to read this book?: I added this book to my TBR shelf on my friend’s recommendation. I trust her judgment, so I imagine I’ll like this book! Read the description–it sounds interesting, right?


q5

5. The Deepest Cut by J. A. Templeton
Publish Date: October 1, 2011
# of Pages: 304
Goodreads Rating: 3.98

Description (from Goodreads): Sixteen-year-old Riley Williams has been able to see ghosts since the car crash that took her mother’s life and shattered her family. Guilt-ridden over the belief that she’s somehow responsible for her mom’s death, Riley is desperate to see her mother’s elusive spirit to gain her forgiveness.

When her father moves the family to Scotland so they can all start over, Riley believes her life couldn’t get worse––that is until the ghost of nineteen-year-old Ian MacKinnon catches her purposely cutting herself. An uneasy truce quickly turns into friendship, and soon Riley’s falling hard for Ian.

Riley believes her gift could help Ian end the curse that has kept him tied to the land for centuries, but that would mean letting him go forever and she’s not sure she is strong enough to do that. As if her life wasn’t complicated enough, the spirit of the woman who killed Ian returns and she’ll stop at nothing to keep Riley from helping Ian find eternal peace.

Why am I excited to read this book?: I’m a cover snob–this is another book I added because I loved the cover. I also like the concept of the book, even though reading/thinking/hearing about ghosts always makes my eyes water (I’m a baby, I know!)


Let’s Talk!

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

Follow me:
Twitter – @thriftybiblio
Facebook – /thriftybibliophile
WordPress – /thriftybibliophile
Instagram – /thriftybibliophile
Goodreads – /thriftybibliophile

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “5 Books On My TBR Shelf I’m Excited About (Week 9)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s